Home

Question:

I’m looking for a Chicago divorce lawyer for men. I am very concerned about child support. I have a two-year-old son. His mother and I both work, and I visit. The hours that I work at my job have been cut since the recession, and I’m caring for my elderly grandfather. My wife makes more than I do, but she’s already notified the court that she is in a financially tenuous situation, and I’m concerned that with my obligation to my grandfather, I will be wiped out by her demands. How much child support do you think I’ll have to pay?

Answer:

Thanks for your question. I’m a Chicago divorce lawyer for men. Although child support is usually based upon guidelines that have been enacted by each state, it is possible in some cases to have an order entered that deviates from those guidelines.  In Illinois the minimum guideline for child support for one child is 20 percent of the net income of the paying parent. For two children it is 28 percent and for three it is 32 percent. However, the court can consider various factors in ordering an amount below those guidelines. This is called a deviation from guidelines and must be supported with specific evidence by your Chicago divorce lawyer for men. Child support at a lower level than is normal must be proven necessary to obtain a court order.

You obviously are working very hard to take care of all of your loved ones, and right now a lot of people are in the same situation as you, losing money and assets as a result of the recession. Don’t give up hope.

For additional help on this topic, here’s a link to Art Kallow’s “Surviving Illinois Child Support” http://dadsrights.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Surviving-Illinois-Child-Support.pdf

Child SUpport

One thought on “Fathers’ Rights Child Support Q&A with Attorney Jeffery M. Leving

Leave a Reply

